Quinoa-tabbouleh

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As Wikipedia describes: “Tabbouleh is a Levantine Arab salad traditionally made of bulgur, tomatoes, cucumbers, finely chopped parsley, mint, onion, and garlic and seasoned with olive oil, lemon juice, and salt.”

As bulgur is a type of wheat, it contains gluten, to which I am allergic. Hence I am making this tabouleh with quinoa instead. For those wondering what quinoa is…  help me out here Wiki! 

Quinoa originated in the Andean region of Ecuador, Bolivia, Colombia and Peru, where it was successfully domesticated 3,000 to 4,000 years ago for human consumption. The nutrient composition is very good compared with common cereals. Quinoa seeds contain essential amino acids like lysine and good quantities of calcium, phosphorus, and iron.” Depending on where you are shopping, or hopefully growing your food, there’s different types of quinoa available. Red, white and black. The one I used is a mix and from the Ekoplaza, but the AH sells it as well.

These are the ingredients I used. All organic as I prefer to eat nutrient-rich food, not chemicals.
For normal people it probably serves 2 for lunch.
Please free-style according to what’s in your fridge or tickles your fancy!

Quinoa mix tomato and spring onion Coconut creamparsley and mint Sambal
INGREDIENTS

Mixed quinoa… the amount… that little glass full with twice the amount of water
Odourless coconut oil/cream
2 Spring onions, finely chopped
1 Courgette/zucchini chopped as you wish
Sambal, 1 tsp. I used a home-made sambal, but check the ingredients when store bought if avoiding gluten and yeast.
Ground turmeric, 1 tsp (kurkuma) (This spice has a stunning amount of healing properties. I suggest some research on it!)
Ground cumin, 1 tsp (komijn)
1 Clove of garlic, finely chopped
Cucumber, about 10 centimeters, chopped in small cubes
Fresh mint leaves, a handful, finely chopped
Fresh parsley leaves, a handful, finely chopped
1 Tomato, chopped as you wish
Raisins, a small handfull. Preferably soaked for half an hour, but I forgot and it tasted great too
Juice of half a lemon or 1 lemon, depending on the size and juiciness
Extra virgin olive oil, a good dash
Salt and pepper, to taste. (Check if your salt contains fluoride. If so, throw it out please and buy one that doesn’t contain it, as fluoride is nasty. I suggest you to research this topic!)

To make this delicious dish I did the following:

I boiled the quinoa until there was no liquid left and the grains had sprouted, then turned it off and let it cool down.
I then melted the coconut oil in a frying pan and added the spring onions, courgette, turmeric and cumin.
I watched it fry for about 5 minutes, stirring once in a while and then added the sambal and garlic. Garlic looses its medicinal goodness when overheated, so I like to keep it semi-raw.
I turned off the stove.
Next came the easiest part, which was adding all the remaining ingredients and mixing it up. This includes the quinoa.
Finally comes the most important part…. tasting it and adjusting accordingly… perhaps a bit more lemon juice, salt or olive oil?

I ate my creation with a pancake made from buckwheat flour, egg-white, salt and water. I am still fine-tuning this one for its sturdiness, which is as of yet not up to my expectations. I will share the recipe once I have mastered it.

Buen Provecho!

Categories: recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

